Skip to main content alibris logo

William Gaddis

A 1982 MacArthur Fellow and two-time winner of the National Book Award, William Gaddis (1922-1998) was the author of five novels: The Recognitions , J R , Carpenter's Gothic , A Frolic of His Own , and, published posthumously, Agape Agape . Joy Williams is the author of several novels and short-story collections, as well as the book of essays Ill Nature . She lives in Tucson, Arizona, and Laramie, Wyoming.