Skip to main content alibris logo
Image not available
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency
Track Listing
  1. 1812 -- Festival Overture, for orchestra in E flat major, Op. 49
  2. Discussion of the stereophonic recording of the cannon shots in Tchaikovsky's "1812 Festival Overture"
  3. Capriccio Italien, for orchestra (or piano, 4 hands), Op. 45
  4. Wellington's Victory, for orchestra, Op. 91
  5. Discussion of the stereophonic recording of the cannon and musket shots in Beethoven's "Wellington's Victory"

How can analog recordings from the mid- to late '50s and early '60s stand up to scrutiny in the digital age, or favorably compare with state-of-the-art multichannel hybrid SACDs and DSD technology? If they happen to be vintage Mercury Living Presence half-inch three-track recordings, made with three Telefunken microphones and digitally remastered for stereo playback on CD, then they can stand up quite brilliantly, as evidenced by this fiery reissue. Naturally, an album of popular showstoppers such as Pyotr Il'yich ...

Tchaikovsky: 1812 Festival Overture; Capriccio Italien; Beethoven: Wellington's Victory 1995, Mercury

UPC: 028943436021